Enabling quality of life in very difficult circumstances, by Kate Plant

19964730_1773600412654889_568888045_nA thought provoking guest blog, second year CYP student nurse Kate Plant shares her experiences and insights into palliative care from her DILP summer placement…


Before starting my nursing degree, I volunteered as a Sibling Support Worker at my local Children’s Hospice. So, I already had some idea about how special these places are. But it was not until I undertook my Elective Placement there that I realised how rewarding a nursing role, in the provision of Palliative Care, can be.

The first thing I noticed was the difference in pace, compared to my previous placements. I was used to dashing around on hospital wards and barely having a moment to drink. So, when I was offered a cup of tea on my first day (half an hour into my shift) I was completely taken aback. But, obviously, there were more significant differences than having the time to quench my thirst. A patient would be allocated both a nurse and a care support worker, on a 2:1 basis, due to the complexity of the patient’s needs. This 2:1 care gave nurses time to listen and understand what really matters to the patient and their family. There was no rushing around. The environment was relaxed. Families would allow a nurse and other staff members to enter their lives in very difficult circumstances and build strong relationships with them. This is where the satisfaction came in.

CYPIn addition, I have by no means observed doctors, nurses and care support workers work together as well as within palliative care. There was no division but instead, a sense of unity. This enabled a pleasant atmosphere to bloom within a setting which, stereotypically, has connotations of being constantly surrounded by upsetting situations. All staff members were part of a team, encouraging a family atmosphere so families were as comfortable and happy as possible. Staff were able to take away a families’ everyday stresses so children and their families could treasure the remaining time they have together as a family, however long this may be.

The thing that struck me the most was the parent’s enormous strength to keep a pleasant face for their terminally-ill child and their other children, in one of the hardest times they can ever face. A parent’s strength is aided through their ability to effectively plan, with help from compassionate and empathetic staff members, any wishes they have in the care their child receives before death. This includes preferred place of care, spiritual and cultural wishes and anticipatory symptom management planning.  With such a wide array of resources available at the hospice (including sensory rooms, adapted garden swings, music rooms, parent bedrooms, bereavement rooms – the list could go on and on) these wishes were almost always met.

TOGETHER_LIVES_RESIZE_800_450_90_s_c1_c_cLast year, the ‘Together for Short Lives’ charity reported a national shortage of children’s palliative care nurses which is negatively impacting on the care provided to children and families. I truly believe if other students and qualified nurses were to gain a deeper understanding and/or even experience how rewarding roles in Palliative Care can be, this could help bridge the care gap. After all, you’ll never regret making a difference in the quality of care a child or young person received, during their last moments of life.

