Social Media Savvy

How many times have you been told about “the dangers of social media”? “It’s online forever!”, or my personal favorite “Just don’t put anything on social media and you won’t have any problems!”. Too often it is portrayed as negative, and it is assumed that social media is an evil within nursing. But is it?

social-media

“Look at this silly cat picture”

I am a total social media enthusiast. I’ve used it for well over 10 years now, freely posting funny cat pictures and what I’d had for dinner. But becoming a student nurse altered my habits. I changed my name on Facebook to keep it more private, and ensured that my social media platforms didn’t show my name. I felt as if everything I said may impact my career. That lasted for about an hour on twitter, as I then discovered the huuuge nursing platform available to me! By engaging with twitter chats, reading articles and following other nurses I felt I was part of a wonderful community! The amount of support I have received has been amazing- and I encourage you all to get involved!  Twitter is incredibly easy to use, and you can create an account that can be used purely for nursing.

safety-first

Completely appropriate and accurate picture to post 

We should be aware of social media. Many student nurses are part of the generation who grew up with it (like myself) so why shouldn’t we embrace it?

There are, of course, cautions. Many nursing-related accounts post really helpful tips of how to stay appropriate on social media. They include tips like: don’t post anything about patients/their relatives/where you work , don’t use offensive language, be kind and don’t try find patients on social media. Pretty simple right? They aren’t horrible scary rules, and (hopefully) don’t put you off getting social media savvy!

If you want to check out some nursing social media, take a look at these: our Facebook page, our Twitter page, NURSOC education which is fab, surviving student nursing is great for some laughs, the UoM BNurs and Midwifery twitter and of course We Nurses!!

For more social media guidance please visit: the NMC, RCN and everynurse to keep yourself safe and professional!

