PEF’s corner: Lisa Brown, MHSC

lisa-brown

At a recent PEF forum we asked some of your friendly neighbourhood PEFs some short interview questions to help you get to know them better and pass on any wise words of wisdom! First in this series is Lisa Brown, PEF and OT at Manchester Mental Health and Social Care Trust, Thanks Lisa!

 


What is your background in Nursing? 
I don’t have one! I am an Occupational Therapist by professional background and have worked on acute mental health wards since I qualified in 2005. I currently work 2 days a week as a PEF and have done since April 2015 and 1 day a week as an OT.

What do you enjoy most about your role as a PEF?
I really enjoy getting the students feedback from placements and helping students get the most out of their placements. I’ve also enjoyed implementing inter-professional learning sessions in our trust so that students from different professions can learn to work together better in practice.

What is the most challenging part of being a PEF?
The most challenging aspect tends to be the administrative / organisational issues, ensuring we have enough good quality placements available and enough educators to accommodate the students.

What does Occupational Therapy mean to you?
Occupational therapy to me means helping people to help themselves. I enjoy finding out an individual’s story and tapping into their interests and values to enable them to live more independently and achieve their goals.

One piece of advice you would give yourself as a student…
Take full advantage of all your placement opportunities , ask lots of questions and ask if you can take the lead in things – I often waited to be asked and missed out to some extent by not taking the initiative.

How can students get in touch with you?
I am available by email via the form below. You can also follow our trust twitter account @PEFMMHSCT for updates or my personal account @OT_LisaB for general musings on mental health, occupational therapy and education.

Please use the form below to contact the author of this post with your comments and questions:

