DILP Week 5 – Teaching and Learning in Maternity ft Muetzel

Well the outrageous fact that next week is my FINAL WEEK is madness. Right now I’m sitting pretty at 208 hours (40 to go) but it almost feels like a dream: I’m so full of questions about the culture and the way of working out here so I feel like I’m always engaged in some sort of discussion, which makes each day really rush by.

13570100_10209880158430843_164513180_o

Shout out to my amazing Nursing Therapeutics Seminar Lead – you know who you are!!!

After one such discussion with the ward Matron, she said she felt the staff could improve their communication and social skills with patients, creating more of a rapport (this took a while to figure out as she speaks rather broken English). So I briefly explained Muetzel’s model of the therapeutic relationship, which is based around Partnership, Intimacy and Reciprocity. She was so interested I ended up making a couple of posters and giving talks to staff members in little groups over the course of the week. It was a really rewarding experience for me to see these Nurses taking on this academic knowledge and applying it, almost immediately, to practice.

It was also wonderful for me to realize how much I’ve learnt during these last 2 years at UoM. Lots of what I was teaching hasn’t come up in exams and I haven’t been fastidiously revising it, but it was still there in my brain, informing how I interact with patients and being able to pass this on was such a great feeling.

All my questions though did make for a slightly awkward discussion with a consultant this week when I asked why it was the normal procedure in Sri Lanka to give Episiotomies, no matter the size of the baby: “Because Sri Lankan women are far more petite than Western women” Fair enough, I thought (the average height of a Sri Lankan woman is 4ft11) but that wasn’t what he was getting at… Gesturing with his surgical scissors he added; “For example this woman’s vagina is far smaller than yours would be”. THANKS DOCTOR. I almost died of embarrassment.

My questions haven’t all had such uncomfortable endings though. For instance I’ve become fascinated by the many superstitions and traditions deeply woven into everyday Sri Lankan life. One very common belief is that the exact time of a person’s birth is holds great importance over the course of their life.

horoscope_matching_1

Its a bit of a cross between buddhism with a big emphasis on horoscopes, couples are often matched based on Birthdays

It is always noted to the minute and this information is taken to a spiritualist (Tamil or Buddhist astronomer) who produces a big document/graph thing that contains key dates to be wary of and dates of good fortune. These can be days or years. During the times of misfortune the family can offset this bad energy by giving alms, doing charitable work or attending the temple more regularly. Equally there is some level or risk management that is involved. For example if someone is predicted a bad 2016 because they were born at 4.33 instead of 4.34 then even if it made sense with every other facet of their life, big dates such as having a baby or getting married would be delayed until they were back in good favors.

I personally would not respond well to such strict time frames but I was far too curious to know what my prophecies would be. So, luckily, I was able to take a short 20-minute stroll from my apartment to the hospital where I was born, 20 years, 6 months and 5 days ago. After a quick 5 minute trip to the records room a nurse produced a huge leather-bound book, identical to the one I have been writing baby’s birth records in for the last two weeks. Except in this one, “Baby Girl Wragg” made an appearance! Thanks to this hand-written entry I am now armed with my birth time and am setting a meeting to speak to a tamil astrologer to find out how things are going for me! Hopefully 2017 with my dissertation looming, will be a very very lucky year for me or else I’ll just have to find a Buddhist temple somewhere near Stretford.

13575540_10209880163830978_449468205_o

Baby Girl Wragg OG Sri Lankan

