Student midwife information services-From an educational and practical perspective

I seem to live, breath, eat and sleep midwifery!  Last thing before bed and the first thing I do in the morning is read the latest updates from Elsevier, Midwifery Journal, RCM, MIDIRS the list goes on!!!

Sleeping_while_studying

No amount of reading can ever be enough as a STMW.  As students we are adult learners, responsible for our own learning, expected to keep up to date with current research, information and clinical guidance.  There is so much to midwifery, I never truly appreciated the enormity of my vocation before starting my journey.

Information services are invaluable for our learning.   I am subscribed to many different learning tools and organisations.  One information service I find particularity invaluable is MIDIRS.

midirs

‘Our Mission:
To be the leading international information resource relating to childbirth and infancy, disseminating this information as widely as possible to assist in the improvement of maternity care’ (MIDIRS 2016)

MIDIRS is an information and resource service for midwives and student midwives, keeping in touch with the latest up to date midwifery knowledge and research, hot topics and articles in midwifery as well as having an in-depth database of research.

‘MIDIRS – or the Midwives Information and Resource Service – is a not-for-profit educational charity providing effective information resources that help maternity health care professionals or students succeed in their professional development and studies.’ (MIDIRS 2016)

Publishing a journal/digest quarterly of the latest research studies and news so you can always rely on the fact the information in the journal is current and reliable information you can use in your studies.

Upon starting my degree I went out and bought umpteen midwifery textbooks, although my course requires me to use this literature, journal and database use is seen as extremely favourable by the university as it shows initiative, breadth and depth of knowledge and passion.  I strongly recommend any midwifery student or nursing student to use current databases and journals to keep up to date with your subject area, I find these invaluable to my practice, learning outcomes and knowledge as a STMW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

