New Placement Nerves

First day on placement today, I was very nervous as I always am! You’d think I’d be used to it by now this being my third year right??

Wrong!! Nervous

I spent most of the night before trying to organise my bag, sort my food, check my clothes were ready, not to mention make sure I was organised with my little boy for morning. Early start then, I hear you ask? I only live 15 mins away from placement, the hours are 9-5 and I drive! So it’s even not like I have to be up early – 7:30am alarm call not bad at all!

But yep here I was arriving early and nervous about the usual… What’s my mentor like? Hope the team are nice, the patients are happy to see a student. Hope I don’t make a fool of myself and say something stupid. What if I hate it? And so on and so on.

nervous2

I met a fellow student in the grounds, purely by chance, they too had arrived a little early and they too were nervous about pretty much all of the above too. And they too were a fellow third year student. A quick reassuring chat and then a good gossip over something completely different to distract us both ad we were off to start what we are sure will be another interesting and inspiring round of placement where after the first day alone we will be wondering what all the fuss was about.nervous3

It was great to know I was not alone in how I felt and I’m sure most of you reading this will have felt something at some point so far in your student nurse journey. So if you do, remember on the run up to your first, fifth or final placement, new placement nerves certainly aren’t a new feeling and you certainly won’t be the only one feeling them!

